Sand Point Commercial Salmon Fishery Announcement # 02

Posted on: June 1st, 2010 | Author: General Manager | Filed under: Sand Point Fishery

SAND POINT COMMERCIAL SALMON FISHERY ANNOUNCEMENT # 02
For Emergency Order #4-FS-M-SP-01-10

The South Unimak and Shumagin Islands June fisheries will open to commercial salmon fishing during the following times and dates:

From 6:00 a.m. Monday, June 7 until 10:00 p.m. Thursday, June 10
From 6:00 a.m. Saturday, June 12 until 10:00 p.m. Tuesday, June 15
From 6:00 a.m. Thursday, June 17 until 10:00 p.m. Sunday, June 20
From 6:00 a.m. Tuesday, June 22 until 10:00 p.m. Friday, June 25
From 6:00 a.m. Sunday, June 27 until 10:00 p.m. Tuesday, June 29

The June fishery occurs in the following districts and sections:

  • Unimak District
  • Bechevin Bay Section of the Northwestern District
  • Southwestern District
  • West and East Pavlof Bay sections of the South Central District
  • Shumagin Islands Section of the Southeastern District

All closed waters in the above locations will be as described in the regulation book or as adjusted by emergency order.

Subsistence permits for the Alaska Peninsula are available in the Alaska Department of Fish and Game offices in Sand Point, Cold Bay and Port Moller. Subsistence fishermen must obtain a permit and have it in their possession while harvesting salmon under subsistence guidelines.

Statistical charts and harvest strategies are available at the Sand Point, Cold Bay, and Port Moller Fish and Game offices. News releases and commercial salmon fishing regulations can be found on the ADF&G website at www.cf.adfg.state.ak.us. Salmon fishery announcements will be broadcast on VHF channels 6 and 73 daily at 9:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. and may also be obtained from ADF&G in Sand Point at 383-2334 (383-ADFG).